URN set release date for long-awaited IRON BONEHEAD comeback, reveal first track

Today, Iron Bonehead Productions sets July 28th as the international release date for Urn's highly […]
May 25, 2017

Today, Iron Bonehead Productions sets July 28th as the international release date for Urn's highly anticipated fourth album, The Burning. One of the Finnish underground's longest-running yet best-kept secrets, Urn have been flying the flag of hate for unholy blackthrash since 1994. Founded by ex-Barathrum guitarist Sulphur, Urn have been a study in delayed-gratification patience and trend-bucking defiance. Their 2001 debut LP 666 Megatons sounded exactly like that, detonating a nuclear blast of classic blackthrash-cum-speed metal, which was further roughed up and refined on the successive LPs Dawn of the Devastation (2006) and Soul Destroyers (2008). But just as Urn had seemingly perfected their addicting 'n' acidic style, their classic power-trio lineup disintegrated and it was up to Sulphur to rebuild the band again. And rebuild, the bass-playing frontman did, as The Burning is the triumphant phoenix from the ashes.

Still maintaining that power-trio formation but now featuring a new lineup that includes guitarist Too Loud and drummer Revenant, The Burning literally explodes with an excitement that's long been missing in black metal - suitably so, as it's Urn's first new recording in nearly a decade. Well rested, then, but certainly not resting on past laurels, Urn here fire off one veritable anthem after another with an urgency that's startling to behold; the energy and passion are writ large across The Burning, and absolutely impossible to contain. And yet, for all its immediacy, there's a certain grace and grandeur to The Burning that Urn have never revealed before: a wide-open, widescreened "man on the mountain" type of atmosphere that makes this pure black HEAVY METAL all the more majestic. However, let it be known that these Finnish bastards still revel in the dirt, just that now they've delivered their rancorous visions in a recording that's their most robust and powerful to date.

Feel The Burning? It's Urn, 666% back with a bestial invasion in the sign of evil! Bow before its first sign HERE at Iron Bonehead's Soundcloud with the new track "Sons of the Northern Star." Cover art, by Rok of Sadistik Exekution, and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Urn (Finland)'s The Burning
1. Intro - Resurrection
2. Celestial Light
3. Hail The King
4. Morbid Black Sorrow
5. Sons Of The Northern Star
6. Nocturnal Demons
7. Wolves Of Radiation
8. All Will End In Fire
9. Falling Paradise
10. The Burning


Iron Bonehead PR
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram