The Sea Within: Launch "Ashes of Dawn"; First Single From Debut Album

THE SEA WITHIN ' the new art-rock collective comprising of Roine Stolt (TRANSATLANTIC, THE FLOWER […]
May 20, 2018

THE SEA WITHIN ' the new art-rock collective comprising of Roine Stolt (TRANSATLANTIC, THE FLOWER KINGS), Daniel Gildenlöw (PAIN OF SALVATION), Jonas Reingold (Steve Hackett, THE FLOWER KINGS, KARMAKANIC, THE TANGENT), Tom Brislin (YES, SYMPHONIC, RENAISSANCE, SPIRALING, Deborah Harry) & Marco Minnemann (THE ARISTOCRATS, Steven Wilson, UK, Joe Satriani) ' have announced that their debut self-titled album will be released on June 22nd, 2018.

They are now pleased to reveal the first track taken from the album. "Ashes of Dawn" is the record's opening track and you can watch the video here:

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

Roine Stolt comments:
""Ashes of Dawn"was one of the first songs Jonas & I started working on for the TSW project last year. It came a long way ' a big de-tour before its final form here. I first took it full 'Apocalypse Now' direction lyric wise - but it later landed somewhere else - perhaps not 100% representative of the rest of album - but that's pretty much what this is all about - we travel fearless through many styles & influences, and here with a slight touch of 'metal' perhaps, but we've also got Rob Townsend guesting on a fusiony sax solo. The video is surreal stuff - animated dreamy eye candy put together by clever people. This tune ended up as the opening track of our debut album - however, personally I see all songs as a continuum ' just one side of this band's personality - one style and expression - this is the introduction, but we'll go many different places on rest of album."

Let's get one thing straight from the start. THE SEA WITHIN is more of an amalgamation of some serious talents, than a regular "supergroup". These musicians have come together to create a unique album. Guitarist/vocalist Roine Stolt, bassist Jonas Reingold, keyboard player/vocalist Tom Brislin, drummer/vocalist Marco Minnemann and vocalist/guitarist Daniel Gildenlöw have a vast reservoir of experience. Look at the portmanteau of artists with who they've worked: THE FLOWER KINGS, TRANSATLANTIC, Jon Anderson, Steven Wilson, THE ARISTOCRATS, Joe Satriani, YES, Steve Hackett, RENAISSANCE, PAIN OF SALVATION, Deborah Harry, MEATLOAF, KARMAKANIC ! that of itself tells you this is something very special.

"I suppose it all began to take shape in the autumn of 2016," explains Stolt. "I had a chat with Thomas Waber, the boss at InsideOut Music, about the idea of putting together a new band. I wanted to move in a fresh direction with new collaborations. So Thomas gave me the 'go ahead' to seek musicians for a new project.

"First on-board was THE FLOWER KINGS bass player Jonas Reingold.- "He is a long time bandmate and friend and we were also very keen to get keyboardist Tom (BRISLIN) involved - after seeing his synth pyrotechnics with legends YES, SYMPHONIC and with CAMEL. Then we have been a fanof 'Aristocrats' drummer Marco for a long time; I first heard of him 15 years ago and he is a brilliant drummer, unique energy. Then when we discussed ideas for singers, Daniel's name came up, he has such a great range and dynamic voice and we've worked together on and off over the years." Also added later to the band's line-up for live shows was vocalist & guitarist Casey McPherson of FLYING COLORS & ALPHA REV, who also sings a couple of songs on the album.

The entire recording situation took about six months, and the band also have some very special guests featured on the album."We have got Jordan Rudess from DREAM THEATER playing piano on one song. The legendary Jon Anderson sings on another track, while WIND ACE Rob Townsend, who plays saxophone and flute with Steve Hackett, is also on the record. Each of them brings a differentflavour to the music."

"People have asked me how I would describe what we have done, and it is almost impossible. I would have to say it sounds like!us, THE SEA WITHIN. Our tastes are very eclectic ' from prog to jazz to classical, to heavy rock, folk, punk, electronicaand pop. We all come from a different background - so here everything goes. This has been about putting those diverse influences into the music. I feel you will hear all that's good about pop ' with great melodies and hooks ' plus the rawness of metal, improvisations, symphonic and movie soundtracks. We also left room for each of us to take off on flights of instrumental jamming. That was the basic idea, anyway. But until we all got together, we had no idea where it would lead or if it would actually work." The band have ended up recording close to two hours of musicand will be releasing it all in June on what will be a self-titled album.

The album will be available as a special edition 2CD digipak, gatefold 2LP vinyl + 2CD & as digital download.
Pre-order now here:

You can find the full track listing below:
Disc 1:

1.Ashes of Dawn
2.They Know My Name
3.The Void
4.An Eye for an Eye for an Eye
6.Sea Without
7.Broken Cord
8.The Hiding of the Truth

Disc 2:
1.The Roaring Silence
2.Where Are You Going?

As mentioned, The Sea Within has recently announced their debut live date, taking to the stage at Night of the Prog Festival 2018 at Loreley, Germany on the weekend of 13-15th July 2018. They have also recently been confirmed to appear on Cruise to the Edge 2019.



Kyle Scott


Roie Aven
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram