THE 69 EYES: Part IV of making-of "Universal Monsters" released

Helsinki's most famous vampires, THE 69 EYES, recently announced the release date of their new […]
February 26, 2016

Helsinki's most famous vampires, THE 69 EYES, recently announced the release date of their new 11th studio album, Universal Monsters. The album will be released on April 22nd via Nuclear Blast.

To bridge the gap until then, the band has launched their fourth making-of trailer today. Watch it here:

Vocalist Jyrki commented:

"THE 69 EYES are a guitar rock band. The main sound relies on two guitars, bass and drums - a classic set up. The overall sound is also shaped by all members' different musical backgrounds. Rhythm guitarist Timo-Timo's musical inspiration used to be punk rock, classic UK '77 punk as well as 80's hardcore punk. Not only just rhythm guitar, he's often behind the melodic guitar licks the make THE 69 EYES songs so memorable. No beers in these sessions but you'll get to hear a glimpse of the next single pick from the album called 'Dolce Vita'! Still some two months to for that and the album though. Naturally it's pure co-incidence that his features are strangely similar to Bela Lugosi."

If you missed the other installments, click here:

Photographer Ville Juurikkala is also be seen as an important part of the band, creating their photos and also the new video for first single 'Jet Fighter Plane'.

"We do this from friendship and love for rock 'n' roll. THE 69 EYES, producer Johnny Lee Michaels and photographer Ville Juurikkala have done this together over two decades. This is our lifestyle. This is also how we see the world right now."

Watch 'Jet Fighter Plane' here:

Purchase 'Jet Fighter Plane' digitally here:

"As I first heard the instrumental demo of the song, it immediately sounded for me like a song from the early 80's new wave/post punk days. You know, like when the music was heavily inspired by David Bowie's dark visions, the Cold War, the threat of nuclear war and "1984"-kind of the future. So I wrote such lyrics from the past ' and all of a sudden, the history started to repeat itself and the Cold War winds started to blow again! It was very strange - all of a sudden THE 69 EYES have a song which is very "today" and even political, longing back the days of peace," tells singer Jyrki 69. "We also wanted the video to be artistic and visually capturing the vibe and theme of the song. There is hope but also darkness, violence and innocence. And it's only goth 'n' roll."

The new album's cover artwork was conceived by Finnish photographer and director Ville Juurikkala - known for his work with NIGHTWISH, AMORPHIS, HIM, APOCALYPTICA and MICHAEL MONROE. As the album title Universal Monsters refers, the band are captured in movie monster lightning, showing them as well classic and timeless creatures. "The covers are planned and designed as an old-school CD covers - remember when the booklets used to be as exciting as the album itself?! It will actually have five different covers being such a folder - each member of the band can be used as a cover creature of their own. Ville has really succeeded in capturing the classic movie vibe for the shots without any special make-up or photo shopping. THE 69 EYES are the universal rock 'n' roll monsters - not so many of us left anymore," says THE 69 EYES vocalist Jyrki. "So from real fans I wish they would get the actual CD in their hands to get the full album treatment as we have planned it to be experienced!"

NB-exclusive formats of THE 69 EYES' new opus can be pre-ordered here:

The Universal Monsters tracklist racks up as follows:

01. Dolce Vita
02. Jet Fighter Plane
03. Blackbird Pie
04. Lady Darkness
05. Miss Pastis
06. Shallow Graves
07. Jerusalem
08. Stiv & Johnny
09. Never
10. Blue
11. Rock 'N' Roll Junkie

Pre-order your copy of Universal Monsters here:

Visit THE 69 EYES online:

Nuclear Blast Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram