TEMPLE OF DREAD: Announce New Album, "Beyond Acheron."

German Death Metallers TEMPLE OF DREAD proudly announce their fourth full-length album, entitled "Beyond Acheron"! […]
May 17, 2023

German Death Metallers TEMPLE OF DREAD proudly announce their fourth full-length album, entitled "Beyond Acheron"!

The follow-up to the highly acclaimed "Hades Unleashed" will be released on August 11th, 2023 via Testimony Records on various LP versions, CD and digitally.

It was produced by drummer Jörg Uken in his renowned Soundlodge Studio and features a cover artwork by Italian artist Paolo Girardi.

Expanding from their brutal death metal base, TEMPLE OF DREAD have focused on the cinematic aspects of their sound. On "Beyond Acheron", the East Frisians have added more dark and heavy parts as well as a healthy dash of melancholic feeling ' and even black metal inspired moments. A spicy extra is added with guest-contributions by former MORGOTH and INSIDIOUS DISEASE vocalist Marc Grewe and GOD DETHRONED's Henri Sattler.

Lyrically, "Beyond Acheron" operates both within and at the same time beyond the genre's traditional splatter-horizon. TEMPLE OF DREAD enjoy the continued support of their friend and word-smith, the psychologist Frank Albers, who has again delivered intelligent gory texts that revolve around antique myth and history featuring protagonists such as Icarus, Vulcan, Hades, Cleopatra, and Marcus Antonius aka Mark Anthony. Although "Beyond Acheron" is not a concept album, classical themes run like Ariadne's red thread through all its aspects.

The band has just premiered a lyric video for the first single, "The Plague", at this location:

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

Guitarist Markus Bünnemeyer states: "Our first single "The Plague" starts very groovy but ignites the full charge of old school death metal in the chorus at the latest. Our singer Jens is supported by Marc Grewe on vocals. Without his early works Temple Of Dread would not sound like they do today. Interesting how similar and complementary the two voices are. Lyrically the song deals with The Plague of Athens: An epidemic that destroyed man from within and thereby carried off almost a whole civilization. Parallels to modern pandemics would be coincidental... The lyrics were visualized by Ecuadorian director Christian Kdrumworm (k-drumworm-media) with great attention to the details of the incredible artwork by Paolo Girardi!"

With "Beyond Acheron", TEMPLE OF DREAD have set a new benchmark for intelligent death metal brutality!


01. Charon's Call (Intro)
02. Beyond Acheron
03. World Below
04. Damnation
05. Dance of Decay
06. All-Consuming Fire
07. The Plague
08. Carnality Device
09. Asebeia
10. Hades


Jens Finger - Vocals
Markus Bünnemeyer - Guitars, Bass
Jörg Uken - Drums, Keys

Guest musicians: Marc Grewe (ex-MORGOTH, INSIDIOUS DISEASE) - additional vocals on "The Plague" & Henri Sattler (GOD DETHRONED) - guitar solo on "Beyond Acheron"


Sure Shot Worx
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram