SANCTUARY: Releases Video For "Frozen"

Reactivated Seattle metal band, Sanctuary, have released the video to their track, "Frozen". The track […]
October 3, 2014

Reactivated Seattle metal band, Sanctuary, have released the video to their track, "Frozen". The track comes off their upcoming album, "The Year The Sun Died", the video was filmed in Germany with director, Dirk Behlau.

German fans can view it here:

Guitarist, Lenny Rutledge comments:
"This video shoot was a blast. The location was an abandoned coal mine processing plant near Essen, Germany.You can see many bizarre birdcage size baskets hanging from the ceiling. There were thousands of them. We were told that they were some type of 'laundry management devices'. They appear as something much more creepy and ominous in my opinion. Almost as if they were some sort of medieval torture devices. The entire building seemed to have a very haunting vibe."

"The Year The Sun Died", the first Sanctuary album in 25 years, has been met with worldwide critical acclaim. Decibel Magazine (USA) proclaims,"You want powerful, progressive thrash metal? You'll find it here"and gave it 8 out of 10 stars. Aardshock Magazine (NL) put the band on the cover proclaiming them the comeback of the year. The band also appeared on the cover of Germany's Rock Hard with the number 1 album that month.

"The Year the Sun Died" will be released in North America on October 14[sup]th[/sup],October 6thin Europe and this Friday, October 3[sup]rd[/sup]in Germany, Austria, Switzerland. It will feature 11 tracks. There will be a deluxe media book, which features expanded packaging and the bonus track, "Waiting for the Sun", originally recorded by the Doors. The vinyl version will come with a CD featuring this bonus track as well. The 11 songs on the CD and LP are as follows:

1. Arise and Purify
2. Let The Serpent Follow Me
3. Exitium (Anthem of the Living)
4. Question Existence Fading
5. I Am Low
6. Frozen
7. One Final Day (Sworn to Believe)
8. The World is Wired
9. The Dying Age
10. Ad Vitam Aeternam
11. The Year the Sun Died

Album Pre-order links:

Sanctuary was formed in Seattle in 1985, they released two studio albums on Epic Records, Refuge Denied in 1987 and Into the Mirror Black in 1989. Worldwide touring with the likes of Megadeth, Warlock, Fates Warning and Death Angel, just to name a few, followed each album. Singer, Warrel Dane's, sky high vocals combined with guitarist, Lenny Rutledge's more mature take on classic thrash riffs separated Sanctuary from the throes of metal bands struggling to get noticed as at the time. Simply put, Sanctuary offered something fresh sounding in the muddled world of '80s thrash.

SANCTUARY line-up 2014:
Warrel Dane ' Vocals
Lenny Rutledge ' Guitars
Jim Sheppard ' Bass
Dave Budbill ' Drums
Brad Hull - Guitars


When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.
Century Media Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram