SAMMAL: Set Release Date For Second Svart Album, Premiere New Digital Single

Torchbearers of Finnish progressive rock Sammal return with a new single this week and a […]
March 24, 2015

Torchbearers of Finnish progressive rock Sammal return with a new single this week and a second album, to be released on May 15th via Svart Records. The eponymous debut album of these Finns, who sing in their native language, garnered widespread praise: Classic Rock called Sammal "an impressive, obsessive rendering of 45-year-old dynamics across a set of beguiling and timeless rock melodies" while Decibel called them "a rare prog band that knows when to say when."

Last winter, Sammal entered the studio and laid down nine new tracks for their second album, Myrskyvaroitus ("Storm Warning"). Whereas the self-titled debut and the band's other early work had mostly been the work of two people - singer Janu Kiviniemi and guitarist Jura Salmi - with last year's EP release No 2, Sammal closed the doors on its past. Myrskyvaroitus is very much an ensemble album, and the band worked on the material as a tight-knit unit. The album was mixed and mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Messenger, Hexvessel, Paradise Lost, Ulver) in London.

Says guitarist Salmi, "We decided to get rid of the comparisons to Black Sabbath and Uriah Heep and be just Sammal. As leading influences in the rehearsal room and studio, we had Vangelis, Moody Blues, Scandinavian jazz, and early Turkish progressive psychedelic rock. We are ready for our second coming."

Digital single "Aika on alkamassa" is available via all digital outlets on Friday, March 27th and can be heard in the meantime HERE. The album Myrskyvaroitus is out on May 15th, on CD, LP, and digital formats via Svart Records. The distinctive cover art is by singer Janu Kiviniemi, and all other album artwork by bassist Lasse Ilano. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Sammal's Myrskyvaroitus
1. Stormvarning
2. Järjen ohimarssi
3. Samaan arkeen
4. Kohtaus yön vyöllä
5. Muurahaisen päiväuni
6. Aika on alkamassa
7. Sulle haavan tein
8. Kohti pintaa
9. Herätkää

Svart Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram