PAINTED DOLL: To Release New Album "How to Draw Fire" September 25th via Tee Pee Records

In the decades and even centuries to come, the year 2020 will be remembered for […]
August 7, 2020

In the decades and even centuries to come, the year 2020 will be remembered for many things, most of them seriously negative. But even in this absolute fucker of a year, goodness still prevails. Part of that goodness is "How to Draw Fire," the brand new album from Painted Doll, the unlikely duo consisting of death metal legend Chris Reifert (Autopsy, Death, Violation Wound, Abscess) and musician/comedian Dave Hill (Valley Lodge, Witch Taint).

"How to Draw Fire" is the band's second album and on it Chris and Dave push their patented blend of psych/prog/proto-punk/rock/power pop and whatever else even further over the course of a dozen songs. Pop hooks are bigger, the scary parts are scarier, and the psych parts are so psychedelic some people may very well require medical attention just to come down from it all.

How to Draw Fire will be released September 25 via Tee Pee Records. Check out the lyric video for the first single "When I Left Home":

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

Pre-orders are available HERE

Chris and Dave met way back in 2015, a simpler time to be sure, but also a crazy time in that Dave somehow found himself at the Housecore Horror and Film Festival in San Antonio, Texas playing guitar for muscle metal legend Thor for one magical evening. Chris' band Autopsy was also playing at the festival and Dave decided to swing by the show to see what all the death metal fuss was about. Afterward, the two got to chatting and decided to see Goblin together later that night. And whenever Dave found himself in Los Angeles in the months that followed, he and Chris would get to jamming on songs inspired by their shared love of sixties and seventies psych music, which eventually resulted in their critically-acclaimed self-titled debut album, released by Tee Pee Records in 2017. Live shows on the east and west coast, featuring an expanded lineup that included the band's producer Tom Beaujour (Nada Surf, Julian Hatfield, the Virgins, Guided by Voices) on guitar and bass player Erika Osterhout (Chtonic Deity, Necrosic, Scolex), followed, including a handful of dates opening up for Monster Magnet, which is awesome.

For "How to Draw Fire," Chris and Dave decided to mix things up and get together in Autopsy's rehearsal room in Oakland, which hasn't been vacuumed since the eighties at least, before eventually heading into Kaleidoscope Sound in New Jersey with Tom Beaujour once again. The result is twelve brand new Painted Doll songs that will remind you not only that hope springs eternal, but that everything sounds better with a little tambourine on it too.

"How to Draw Fire" will be unleashed on an unsuspecting public September 25 via Tee Pee Records. It is the best album and if you end up not agreeing, you can kick Chris and Dave in the nuts. Order the album HERE.

"How to Draw Fire" Tracklisting:
1. Sun in the Sea
2. On the Ropes
3. You Were Everywhere
4. Slow Armageddon
5. Blue Postcards
6. When I Left Home
7. Cheap Kicks
8. Idlewild
9. Get You High Tonight
10. Midnight Morning
11. Dollhouse Rock
12. Leave a Light On

For More Info Visit:

Freeman Promotions
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram