NOTHING announce album details

Philadelphia-based NOTHING are proud to share the artwork, tracklist, and pre-order for their debut LP, […]
January 15, 2014

Philadelphia-based NOTHING are proud to share the artwork, tracklist, and pre-order for their debut LP, Guilty of Everything, which will be released on March 3rd in the UK via Relapse Records. Watch the album trailer above and stream the first single from the record, Dig, which Pitchfork said "immediately stands out amongst similarly pretty-ugly artists by letting the vocals of Dominic Palermo float above the distorted grind rather than within it." A music video for their next single, Bent Nail, was filmed with director Don Argott (Art of The Steal, Last Days Here) and will be available soon.

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

Rolling Stone tipped NOTHING as "CMJ 2013's 10 Best Discoveries" after seeing them perform live; since then the band has toured with Whirr, opened for Cold Cave for Red Bull Music Academy Sound Select, and most recently opened for DIIV on New Years Eve. The band will be touring in the USA with Weekend, and European dates are in the pipeline for later in 2014.

NOTHING was formed in 2011 by Domenic Palermo. Previously Palermo was the brains behind the early 2000's hardcore/punk act Horror Show. in 2002 Horror Show was put on hold after Palermo was incarcerated for a stabbing that eventually led to a 2 year prison sentence. Upon his return Palermo would take a lengthy hiatus from music. In 2011 Palermo released a demo tape titled Poshlost under the moniker NOTHING. After several attempts at constructing a solid lineup for the band Palermo met Brandon Setta. Setta would bring a lush, rich soundscape and a fresh approach to Palermo's vision for Nothing. Setta and Palermo would handle the writing for the next release, a very rare 12" EP that was released on Japanese boutique label Big Love Records called Suns And Lovers (A play off of the D.H. Lawernce book). It was limited to 300 copies and the bands share was donated back to the label for a Tsunami Relief Charity. The next release, Downward Years To Come was a 5 song EP and was recorded at the Rubber Tracks Studio in Brooklyn with Kyle "Slick" Johnson. The record was released by Baltimore Label A389 Records in November 2012. Written by Palermo and Setta, the concept behind Downward Years To Come was a dedication to several different poets who had taken their own lives. Head to NOTHING's bandcamp page here to stream or purchase Downward Years To Come and Suns And Lovers. Setta and Palermo would again head into the studio, this time with Jeff Zeigler at Uniform Recordings to write their debut LP, Guilty of Everything and sign with Relapse Records.

Pioneer Music Press
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram