MORBID SAINT: Kick off presale for "Spectrum of Death" vinyl reissue & extended edition, launch preview tracks

A masterpiece of raw and rabid, deadly thrashing madness is going to return as stunning […]
February 13, 2016

A masterpiece of raw and rabid, deadly thrashing madness is going to return as stunning reissue on March 11th, 2016 via Century Media Records: MORBID SAINT's Spectrum of Death! Originally recorded as a demo in the late 80's and produced by Eric Greif (Acrophet, Viogression), the 1990 released album by the Wisconsin thrashers offers a vicious and intense mix of early Slayer, Kreator, and Dark Angel that has not lost any of its violent impact.

After a series of low-key reissues and shabby bootlegs, Spectrum of Death will now be released on vinyl visually orientating on the original design yet in a Gatefold sleeve to house the extensive 8-page LP-sized booklet as well as double CD, and digital. The latter two will be released under the title Spectrum of Death (Extended Edition) and contain everything MORBID SAINT have recorded so far including the rough mix of the unreleased, often bootlegged second album, Destruction System, various tracks recorded in 2010 and 2011 plus the 1992 demo aka "The Black Tape", of which only 50 copies were ever made.

For this release, founding member Jay Visser (guitar) dug deep into his personal archive and excavated tons of rare photos, obscure logo designs, and flyers as well as telling the history of MORBID SAINT in a detailed interview.

Whereas the Spectrum of Death album was specially mastered for vinyl, and hardly touched to preserve its original sound, all other tracks have been carefully restored and remastered by Patrick W. Engel / Temple Of Disharmony (Iced Earth, Grave, Massacra) to ensure most pleasant aural terror!

Apart from various vinyl editions, German label Home Taping Cruelties also did an official tape replica of the "Lock Up Your Children" demo (the audio is identical to the "Spectrum of Death" album), which CM Distro Europe and USA offer as a limited bundle offer.

The following formats are on presale NOW!
Gatefold transp. red LP & LP-Booklet - limited to 100 copies (CM Distro EU exclusive)
Gatefold black LP & LP-Booklet plus "Lock Up Your Children" tape replica bundle (CM Distro EU & US exclusive)
Gatefold light blue LP & LP-Booklet - limited to 200 copies (CM Distro US exclusive)
Gatefold lilac LP & LP-Booklet - limited to 500 copies (distributed via RED & CM Distro US)
Gatefold clear LP & LP-Booklet - limited to 200 copies (High Roller Records exclusive,
Gatefold black LP & LP-Booklet
Ltd. Edition 2CD Digipak incl 32-page booklet
"Lock Up Your Children" tape replica - limited to 666 copies (Home Taping Cruelties release, available via

Get your format of choice at

Digital formats are available for pre-ordering here:

In case you're too young to know the glorious MORBID SAINT, here are two tracks to check out:
"Crying For Death" (from "Spectrum Of Death"):
"Final Exit" (from "Destruction System"):

See below for the exact track-listing per format:
"Spectrum Of Death" LP:
Side A:
1. Lock Up Your Children
2. Burned at the Stake
3. Assassin
4. Damien

Side B:
1. Crying for Death
2. Spectrum of Death
3. Scars
4. Beyond the Gates of Hell

"Spectrum of Death" Limited Edition 2CD Digipak / Digital album:
Disc One:
"Spectrum of Death" original album
(recorded in 1988 and also released as "Lock Up Your Children" demo)
1. Lock Up Your Children
2. Burned at the Stake
3. Assassin
4. Damien
5. Crying for Death
6. Spectrum of Death
7. Scars
8. Beyond the Gates of Hell
"The Black Tape" demo (recorded in 1992)
9. Destruction System
10. Disciples Of Discipline
11. Sign Of The Times
12. Living Misery

Disc Two:
"Destruction System" rough mix (recorded in 1992)
1. Intro
2. Destruction System
3. Darkness Unseen
4. Depth of Sanity
5. Disciples of Discipline
6. Spectrum of Death II
7. Halls of Terror
8. Living Misery
9. Sign of the Times
10. Final Exit
Recordings 2011
11. Death Before Dawn
12. Thrashaholic (first song ever written by the band back in 1985)
Recordings 2010
13. Dying Day
14. Life's Blood

Enjoy this high class reissue that honors a true underground thrash legend in a proper way!


Century Media Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram