HOUR OF PENANCE: Post New Album Trailer.

Italy's technical, blackened death metal outfit HOUR OF PENANCE, post trailer for its upcoming studio […]
August 31, 2019

Italy's technical, blackened death metal outfit HOUR OF PENANCE, post trailer for its upcoming studio album titled "Misotheism", set for an October 25th release on Agonia Records. Watch the trailer here:

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

HOUR OF PENANCE will embark on a headlining tour of UK alongside Demim and Cryptic Shift in December. Following the tour's completion, the band will perform at Eindhoven Metal Meeting in the Netherlands. More dates will be announced soon.

Set in motion in Rome, in 1999, HOUR OF PENANCE travelled a long way to find itself standing strong as one of the most intense, talented and striking death metal acts to emerge from Italy. At the same time, their eighth installment "Misotheism" cloaks the same verve and mindful perfection, that led to the band's uprising in the first place. "Like we did with our past records, we've started working on this one with the same passion and focus as if we were about to record our very first album", says the group. "We've never took anything for granted, not only by keeping in mind the standards our fans are expecting, but also pushing ourselves to try perfecting our sound". Their excitement for death metal didn't wash out their careful attitude towards tying up all loose ends, either: "We never thought that we would have come this far with our career, and while we didn't feel any pressure writing this record, we definitely put some extra care this time. In fact, the album was recorded in three different studios and handled by three different sound engineers".

What we receive in the end is far better than what some may have been craving for: "Misotheism" is a pitch-black and delightfully brutal death metal soundtrack to a collapsing universe. "It pushed Hour of Penance to a new level of creativity. We're confident that you will enjoy the new album as much as we do", adds the band.

"Misotheism" was worked on in three different locations. Drums were tracked at Bloom Recording Studio (Italy), where the band "took advantage of the huge recording rooms and endless choice of microphones". On the other end, we have Kick Recording Studio (Italy), where guitars, bass and vocals were recorded with Marco Mastrobuono (who also worked on 2014' "Regicide" and 2017' "Cast the First Stone"). Lastly, the band drove all the way to Poland, where the album was mixed and mastered at Hertz Studios (Behemoth, Vader, Decapitated). As the band reports: "Working with the Wiesławscy brothers was like putting the icing on the cake and thanks to their mastery we managed to achieve the perfect sound without making any compromises".

The cover for the album was handled by a Hungarian artist, Gyula Havancsàk (Accept, Annihilator, Destruction, Ensiferum). "He perfectly captured the overall feel of the album", comments the band.

With seven albums to their name (first two with Xtreem Music, later two with Unique Leader Records and last three with Prosthetic Records), and a reputation of a venerated live act (with tours across North America, Europe and Australia in the company of Cannibal Corpse, Behemoth, Devildriver and Misery Index to name a few), HOUR OF PENANCE is now on the verge of introducing their latest work, "Misotheism", via Agonia Records, on October 25th. The band is planning to support their upcoming album on the road, having already played at Metal Days Festival 2019 in Slovenia, and looking forward to performing a string of dates in the UK this December, followed by a show at Eindhoven Metal Meeting 2019. More dates are yet to be announced.


1. Mass Crucifixion Of Kings
2. Blight And Conquer
3. Fallen From Ivory Towers
4. The Second Babel
5. Lamb Of The Seven Sins
6. Flames Of Merciless Gods
7. Sovereign Nation
8. Dura Lex Sed Lex
9. Iudex
10. Occult Den Of Snakes
Limited edition bonus tracks:
11. Misconception (2007 demo)
12. Slavery In A Deaf Decay (2007 demo)
13. Hierarchy Of The Fools (2007 demo)


- jewelcase CD,
- box CD (feat. slipcase, patch and flag),
- black LP,
- transparent smoked LP,
- red with black splatter LP,
- t-shirt.

Upcoming shows:

10.12.2019: Leeds @ Temple Of Boom, UK*
11.12.2019: Nottingham @ The Angel Microbrewery, UK*
12.12.2019: London @ Nambucca, UK*
13.12.2019: Brighton @ The Green Door Store, UK*
13.12.2019 - Eindhoven Metal Meeting, NL

*with Damim and Cryptic Shift


Giulio Moschini - guitars
Paolo Pieri - guitars and vocals
Marco Mastrobuono - bass
Davide Billia - drums




Agonia Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram