FROM BEYOND: Stream "The Band from Beyond."

Austin, TX sci-fi stoner metal band From Beyond will release its new LP, The Band […]
May 12, 2018

Austin, TX sci-fi stoner metal band From Beyond will release its new LP, The Band From Beyond, on May 11 via Candlelight Records / UMG. Recorded with producer Bryan Richie of The Sword, the album delivers 14 tracks that pulse with dark synths and doomy hooks and brim with booming guitars and Lovecraftian, vintage horror film feels. In advance of the record's release, Decibel is streaming The Band From Beyond in full adding, "Throughout 'The Band from Beyond', vocalist/guitarist Rob McCarthy pairs Red Fang's fuzz-pop with tales of interdimensional shenanigans and creatures that go bump in the night." Stream The Band From Beyond, in its entirety, at this location:

Formed in 2010, From Beyond plays heaving heavy music through towering stacks of amps while adding suspense-generating synthesizer segways that create atmospheres and moods that are both a throwback and oddly timeless. Segueing between eerie drones and heavy rock, the band's tracks offer a multiplex worth of possibilities, spanning moments of action, horror, discovery, and victory in its suite-like sweeps. The Band From Beyond is the follow-up to From Beyond's EP, The Color Out of Space, which was praised as "cinematic" (Houston Press) and its 2014 Scion AV split with Relapse Records recording artists ASG.

With a tour history that includes gigs with The Sword, Purson, Truckfighters, and Saint Vitus, and festival shows alongside enigmatic acts such as Aphex Twin, John Carpenter, S U R V I V E and Squarepusher, From Beyond touches on multiple musical pressure points and makes new fans and believers the minute they step on the stage. It wouldn't be surprising to catch them playing either The Mos Eisley Cantina or Coachella and totally tripping out everyone in the audience.

"When the original idea for the band came to fruition, I wanted to do something that was steeped in psychedelic horror," says bandleader Rob McCarthy. "Horror from the late sixties and early seventies was of particular interest to me. Films like 'Simon King of the Witches', 'Psychomania', and the work of Coffin Joe (Brazilian filmmaker José Mojica Marins) come to mind. At the same time, I love the scores for 'Escape from New York' and 'Halloween'. I got really into that sparse and minimal approach to synthesis. I wanted to bring those elements to music inspired by Queens of the Stone Age, Sleep, and the writing of H.P. Lovecraft."

Track listing:

1.) Invocation
2.) The Fall to Earth
3.) Blooming Sun (Revolver premiere)
4.) The Slip (listen HERE)
5.) Lost Way
6.) The Color Into Space
7.) The Color Out of Space
8.) Synthro
9.) At Midnight
10.) Laura (listen HERE)
11.) Machine Gun
12.) White Marble
13.) Black Mirror
14.) Synthia

Pre-order The Band From Beyond at this location:

From Beyond features Rob McCarthy (vocals, guitar, synth), Dave Grooman (guitar, effects), Brooks Willhoite (bass, synth, vocals) and Anthony Vallejo (drums, vocals). Follow the band on Facebook:

Action! PR
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram