FIRE DOWN BELOW: Debuts New Song "Ignition Space Cruiser."

Belgium desert rock band Fire Down Below will release its new album, Hymn of the […]
June 7, 2018

Belgium desert rock band Fire Down Below will release its new album, Hymn of the Cosmic Man, on June 8 via Ripple Music (Mothership, BANG!). The surging quartet -- once hailed as "a stoner version of Tool" -- created the LP as an outer space concept album detailing "a single soul against an unnamed threat to mankind." Hymn of the Cosmic Man was mixed for maximum trajectory by Brad Boatright (Windhand, SUNN O))), Bell Witch) and is the follow up to Fire Down Below's 2016 debut, Viper, Vixen, Goddess, Saint.

In advance of the release of Hymn of the Cosmic Man, Revolver premieres the record's majestic centerpiece, "Ignition / Space Cruiser", saying, "The album's overarching plot might be set in deep space, but Fire Down Below aren't out of the quite desert yet, as proven by their new, two-part crusher "Ignition/Space Cruiser." Its scorching opening half is an aural interpretation of a rocket shooting off into space, while the latter section symbolizes the weightlessness of floating through outer space." Hear Fire Down Below's "Ignition / Space Cruiser" now at this location:

"Ignition/Space Cruiser" is the first 'real' song on the album (the first track being more of an intro track, to set the right atmosphere). You could even say that it's two songs in one track, as there are two distinct sides to this one," explains bassist Bert Wynsberghe. "The first part, "Ignition", is about blasting off into space in a rocket, so it's intense, gritty and uptempo. The second half, "Space Cruiser", is about the moment when weightlessness kicks in and our protagonist enjoys the beauty of gently gliding through space. The two sides of the story complete each other really well and are connected through the lyrics, so we decided to treat them as one entity and make it one long, kick ass track."

In its short, but effectual time as a band, the sound of Fire Down Below has drawn comparison to international stalwarts such as Truckfighters, Red Fang and 1000mods, and now with Hymn of the Cosmic Man, the band shifts into overdrive, building on its background while establishing its own singular identity. From the swelling, album openers 'Red Giant' and 'Ignition/Space Cruiser', to the spectacularly progressive closer 'Adrift In A Sea Of Stars', Fire Down Below steps up and takes flight powered by soaring riffs, surging rhythms and a skyrocketing, singular vision.

Track listing:

1.) Red Giant
2.) Ignition / Space Cruiser
3.) Saviour of Man
4.) The Cosmic Pilgrim
5.) Nebula
6.) Ascension
7.) Adrift In A Sea Of Stars

Fire Down Below features Bert Wynsberghe (bass), Jeroen Van Troyen (guitar, vocals), Kevin Gernaey (guitar) and Sam Nuytens (drums). Follow the band on Facebook and Instagram. Fire Down Below is available to speak with interested media. To chat with the band or request a review copy of Hymn of the Cosmic Man, simply contact Carl Schultz at ACTION! PR.

"Rock n' roll ain't dead!stoner, classic, psyche, late 60s/early 70s style, etc., you just gotta look for the good stuff. Fire Down Below is pound for pound one of the best the style has to offer in current times." - TEETH OF THE DIVINE

Action! PR
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram