CELLAR DARLING: Unveil artwork and tracklist

After announcing the title of their highly anticipated debut album last week, CELLAR DARLING, the […]
May 7, 2017

After announcing the title of their highly anticipated debut album last week, CELLAR DARLING, the much-hyped new band formed by ex-ELUVEITIE members Anna Murphy, Merlin Sutter and Ivo Henzi, now unveil the artwork of "This Is The Sound". The mesmerising cover artwork, created by Christopher Ruef (graphic design) & Manuel Vargas Lépiz (photography) drags you right into CELLAR DARLING's mystical world of apocalyptic tales, heavy riffs and a captivating voice, ready to break the chains of your imagination. The band also revealed the full tracklist of their upcoming album - an astounding 14 original songs amounting to a full hour of music. As if that's not enough, the mediabook edition will feature 3 bonus tracks! Each band member chose a cover song to interpret in CELLAR DARLING's own, unique style. The selection will be: 'The Cold Song' from Henry Purcell's "King Arthur" opera, chosen by Anna, Tears for Fears' 'Mad World', chosen by Ivo and the epic Queen classic 'The Prophet's Song' - Merlin's all time favourite. Also included in the mediabook will be an alternative and limited cover artwork plus an extended 32-page booklet, filled with the band's notes on the stories behind their songs.

The band states:

"The figure of the cover lures you into our world of stories and eclectic music. It's a preview of the remaining artwork, where each song has it's own own visual representation and symbol."

"This Is The Sound" will see the light of day on June 30th featuring 14 original tracks:

01. Avalanche
02. Black Moon
03. Challenge
04. Hullaballoo
05. Six Days
06. The Hermit
07. Water
08. Fire, Wind & Earth
09. Rebels
10. Under The Oak Tree!
11. !High Above These Crowns
12. Starcrusher
13. Hedonia
14. Redemption

Bonus tracks, available exclusively on the mediabook:
15. The Cold Song
16. Mad World
17. The Prophet's Song

CELLAR DARLING already played a couple of shows where they premiered their new songs live and over the next days, you can witness them again on the stages of four different countries:

05.05. SLO Ljubljana - Orto Bar
06.05. I Mantua - Milady Metal Fest
07.05. D Munich - Backstage
14.07. CH Bôle - ParaBôle Festival
16.-19.08. D Dinkelsbühl - Summer Breeze

And in autumn, the travellers embark on a journey together with symphonic metallers DELAIN and SERENITY:

26.10. F Paris - Alhambra
27.10. CH Pratteln - Z7
28.10. D Bochum - Zeche
29.10. D Munich - Backstage
31.10. UK Utrecht - Tivoli Vredenburg
01.11. UK London - Koko

More details about their first studio tale, released through Nuclear Blast, will follow shortly and in the meantime you can watch a trailer from the recordings in the New Sound Studio of Pfäffikon here:

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

The band filmed an entire little studio documentary that will soon be revealed bit by bit on CELLAR DARLING's Facebook page and Youtube channel, so stay tuned!

After their split with ELUVEITIE, Anna Murphy, Ivo Henzi and Merlin Sutter quickly realised their musical journey was far from over. What quickly developed was a unique and fresh combination of grand and heavy riffs, powerful drumming and a unique voice along with the signature folky, earthy tones of the hurdy gurdy. This, combined with classical elements as well as inherited folk influences, led to the creation of something entirely new, setting Cellar Darling on the path of musical innovation.

CELLAR DARLING released their first single, 'Challenge', and a bonus song called 'Fire, Wind & Earth' in September 2016.

Watch the lyric videos here:

More info:

Nuclear Blast Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram