BOOKAKEE: Releasing 'Ignominies' June 29.

Montreal (QC) - Often referred to as Montreal's answer to GWAR, progressive/technical Death Metal whirlwind […]
May 25, 2018

Montreal (QC) - Often referred to as Montreal's answer to GWAR, progressive/technical Death Metal whirlwind BOOKAKEE will release sophomore album Ignominies June 29 on Transcending Records. Musically ambitious, holistically entertaining, and decimating in its approach, Ignominies is guaranteed to leave an indelible imprint on the minds of listeners the world over.

A promo video for first single "Bréhaigne," the album's only song sung in French and featuring guest vocalist Julien Truchan (BENIGHTED), is now available for audio terror immersion here:

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

Mixing, mastering, and drum recording for Ignominies were accomplished at Christian Donaldson's (CRYPTOPSY) legendary studio The Grid. Vocals, guitars and bass were recorded by BOOKAKEE vocalist Simon Pierre Gagnon in his home studio.

Track List:

1. Monarch of the Depraved
2. Ignominies
3. Bréhaigne ( feat. Julien Truchan of Benighted)
4. Oculus Nebula
5. Muliebria
6. Intermission 1
7. Mario Whirl
8. Refuge Insidieux
9. Intermission 2
10. Scullion
11. Celestial Decimation
12. As We Assault Empyrean
13. Noise

Bookakee is a Montreal-based progressive technical death metal band founded by Simon Pierre Gagnon and Jonathan David in 2007, inspired by many different metal bands such as Opeth, Death, Cephalic Carnage, Origin and Necrophagist, but also mixing in a lot of different non-metal musical styles. In 2009, Bookakee entered a battle of the bands named 'Metal Academie.' Eighteen bands competed over four months at the mythical 'Cafe Chaos' in Montreal with Bookakee being crowned the winners.

The band was re-born in 2011 when singer Philippe Langelier and guitarist Mat Paré joined and brought with them a new direction. Philippe brought experience, having sung for many metal bands of numerous genres and being a former Canadian Idol participant. Also a renowned visual artist, he provided all the artwork for the albums, started adding full-body makeup to the members' look and created multiple gory props for the stage shows. Mat brought management and bookings, helping the band spread their music across the country.
In 2011, Bookakee released their first 6-song EP, recorded and mixed by guitarist Simon Pierre Gagnon in his home studio. Jean-Philippe Bouchard joined on drums in 2013. He brought in samples and triggers, highly enhancing the band's performance, speed and sound. He opened new doors of musical composition and technical improvement.

Often referred to as Montreal's answer to Gwar, Bookakee have now played over 180 shows, sharing the stage with such acts as Obscura, Cryptopsy, Augury, Beyond Creation, Powerglove, Origin, Dying Fetus, The Faceless, Fleshgod Apocalypse, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Job for a Cowboy, Benighted, Gorod, Lordi and so many more.
Always pushing the boundaries of entertainment value coupled with melodic well-crafted death metal songs.

In December 2013, the band released their first full-length album titled Whorrific, featuring 13 songs recorded, mixed and mastered at guitarist SP's house. The band did their went on their first self-booked tour with Benighted in 2015, 23 shows in 24 nights across Canada. The year after, they did the same, self-booking another 24-date tour across Canada with Gorod from France.

The band just finished recording a 13-track album with Chris Donaldson (Cryptopsy guitarist). The mixing, mastering and drum recording were done at his legendary studio The GRID. Vocals, guitars and bass were recorded by Simon Pierre Gagnon in his home studio.

At the beginning of 2018, due to personal and artistic differences, Bookakee decided to part ways with long-time guitarist Mat Paré. The band replaced him with an old friend, Jonathan Gagnon. Having composed 90 percent of the song "Muliebria" and being a fan of death metal and jazz, with nearly 20 years of guitar experience playing Manouche Jazz music, he was an easy choice. Now Bookakee is ready to spread its seed across the world.


Philippe Langelier - Vocals
Simon Pierre Gagnon - Guitars
Jonathan David - Bass
JP Bouchard - Drums

Clawhammer PR
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram