ATLAS: Release First Single from Debut Album.

"Where there's a will there's a way" This is the mentality of the 5-piece modern […]
August 31, 2018

"Where there's a will there's a way"

This is the mentality of the 5-piece modern metalcore band ATLAS, hailing from Nokia, Finland who are more than determined to make a serious impact on the genre. Labeling their sound as ''Northcore'' the band has already released a well-received debut EP and now the band is finally back with full-length album release! After 6 years of hard work, the band has found its firm lineup with members who have dedicated themselves and their lives to the music. In that half a decade the bands sound has developed and matured to the point where it is now; a truly unique mixture of different genres and sounds.

Watch ON CROOKED STONES -video on Youtube:

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

ON CROOKED STONES is the first single from the upcoming ATLAS -album released by Inverse Records and is a mix between traditional metalcore, breeze of the north and brutal modern elements that challenge the listener. The music video was filmed on tour with USA metalcore giants Miss May I in June of 2018 and portrays the bands intense live show.

Listen ON CROOKED STONES on Spotify:

ATLAS has also a new album on the way called 'PRIMITIVE'. It is the debut album of ATLAS and a follow-up to the 2016 ''Northern Lights'' EP and 2018 pre-singles ''Birthright'' and ''The Catalyst''.

''We started writing the album back in 2015 and it took us 2 years and about 30 song ideas to narrow it down to these nine tracks. The process was long and one of the hardest things we've ever set out to do, but we're all extremely happy and proud of how it came out in the end!'' - Aleksi / guitar

The album was recorded at Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki with audio engineer and producer Tuomas Yli-Jaskari (Lost Society, Valkeat, etc.). The mixing and mastering took place in Sweden at Impact Studios by Buster Odeholm (Born of Osiris, Sworn In, Humanitys Last Breath, etc.).

''Working with Tuomas and Buster was great from start to finish and I don't think we could have picked better people to make this album with. We also had the abosolute pleasure to work with George Christie (Winds of Plague, Shields, A Night In Texas, etc.) who did most of the synth production on the album. Unfortunately George passed away earlier this year but he left behind some of the best music we've ever heard. It was an honor to work with him and his memory will live on through his music'' - Tuomas / guitar

PRIMITIVE is a 35 minute album comprised of 9 songs that show the full sonic spectrum of ATLAS from aggressive and outrospective to ethereal and visceral. Waning and conflagrating in turns the album captivates the listener with it's dynamic interpretation of modern metalcore.

''I think this album has a bit of everything for everyone while still holding a certain atmosphere and sound through it all. Lyrically it's quite a personal album for us. The themes vary from depression and anxiety to nihlism, corruption, relationships, insomnia and love. There's definitely things to relate to for the listener. We also had Ben English from ''Invent, Animate'' feature on one of the songs and he absolutely killed it!'' - Patrik / vocals

''We're fortunate enough to have the possibility to make our own videos from start to finish. The visual part is just as important to us as the music itself. We can't wait for everyone to hear and see what we've been working so hard on for the past couple years!'' - Leevi / vocals & bass


1. Skinwalker
2. Feel
3. Kaamos
4. On Crooked Stones
5. Primitive
6. Pareidolia
7. Pendulum Swing
8. Bloodline (feat. Ben English)
9. Rust


Patrik Nuorteva - Vocals
Leevi Luoto - Vocals & Bass
Tuomas Kurikka - Guitar
Aleksi Viinikka - Guitar
Aku Karjalainen - Drums

Inverse Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram