AETHEREUS: "Abstentia" New Album Details.

Whereas many bands will start out strong only to fizzle and implode abruptly, it is […]
June 14, 2018

Whereas many bands will start out strong only to fizzle and implode abruptly, it is often the group's who labor at their craft for years that stay the course, slowly building towards their highest potential in due time. Such a path is exactly what Tacoma, Washington natives Aethereus have taken as musicians who have attained seasoned veteran status in the Northwest U.S. death metal scene through years of hard work that will soon culminate in their finest hour.

After releasing a stunning EP entitled Ego Futurus in 2015 that featured Oblivion/ex-The Zenith Passage drummer Luis Martinez, the group secured an influx of new members in 2016 starting with drummer Matt Behner (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation) that would re-inspire the group to carry on after the untimely passing of longtime bassist Shaun Hansen. Vocalist Vance Bratcher and bassist Scott Hermanns of the highly praised Seattle symphonic death metal outfit The Devils of Loudon joined soon after, rounding out an already strong musical foundation set by founding guitarists Kyle Chapman and Benjamin Gassman who have been writing together since their early days in 2008 and onwards in their previous project known as Seker.

Today the Artisan Era is proud to announce the upcoming Friday, August 10th release of the band's debut album, Absentia. Right from the get-go, Sam Nelson's (Allegaeon, First Fragment, Vale Of Pnath) ethereal cover artwork draws you into the richly textured and often beautiful world Aethereus creates musically on Absentia. The group's take on progressive death metal deftly combines elements of atmospheric death metal, ferocious technical death metal, and more overtly melodic death metal focused ends of the spectrum into a sound all their own. Aethereus cites influences ranging from Obscura, Spawn of Possession, Cynic, and Gorod which rightly shows in the ambitious and smartly crafted songs found on Absentia. Keep an eye out for the first single which will see release on Tuesday, June 19th.

You can listen to an extended album teaser video for Absentia HERE:

[MA GDPR YouTube] Invalid video id.

Guitarist Kyle Chapman comments on the upcoming release of Absentia:

"Work on "Absentia" started back in January of 2016 shortly after the release of "Ego Futurus." Shaun and Kyle had already been working on mapping out new songs and developing potential lyrical concepts. However, because of Shaun's untimely passing, the album became something completely different. It went from a sort of weird self-indulgent sci-fi story to be about depression and loss, becoming both a point of frustration and catharsis. "Absentia" is loosely structured around the Kübler-Ross Five Stages of Grief (Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance). Musically, lyrically, and conceptually, the album follows the stages of grief and describes the experience of losing a loved one and the lasting impact that person's absence has on an individual, a group, and life as a whole. It begins in a chaotic and bombastic manner, goes into some somber places, but ultimately ends on a somewhat hopeful note."

Stay tuned for more Aethereus news, early singles, and promos for reviewers in the coming weeks.

Pre-orders for Aethereus - Absentia are now live:


Aethereus - Absentia Track Listing:

1. Cascades of Light
2. Writhe
3. Mortal Abrogation
4. Fluorescent Halls of Decay (Ft. Brody Uttley of Rivers of Nihil)
5. Absentia
6. That Which is Left Behind
7. The Black Circle
8. With You, I Walk
9. The Pale Beast

Aethereus - Absentia Line-Up:

Vance Bratcher ' Vocals (The Devils of Loudon/Six Days of Darkness)
Kyle Chapman ' Guitar/Vocals
Ben Gassman ' Guitar
Scott Hermanns ' Bass (The Devils of Loudon/ex-Blood and Thunder)
Matthew Behner ' Drums (ex-Fully Consumed/ex-Year of Desolation)

Mind Eraser PR
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram