VOICES OF RUIN: Debut music video for "Death's Design" via Metal Injection

"...powerful growling vocals, well-crafted, pristine-sounding shred guitar solos and harmonies, and a solid, upbeat rhythm […]
October 28, 2015

"...powerful growling vocals, well-crafted, pristine-sounding shred guitar solos and harmonies, and a solid, upbeat rhythm section. These guys are no newbies..." - MetalAssault.com

Southern CA based blackened melodic death outfit, VOICES OF RUIN, has released a music video for the track "Death's Design" exclusively over at MetalInjection.net:


The clip was directed by Matt Zane (ZAKK WYLDE, ORGY, ANNIHILATED, WAYNE STATIC, SOCIETY 1) and the track comes from the band's second full-length album entitled Born From The Dark, which was released this past October 17th.

"We are so proud of this new album, we are very excited to showcase 'Death's Design' with this epic video," states vocalist David Barrett. "Making this music video was an awesome experience. Matt Zane not only captured our vision but added his artistic approach to make this video a dark and twisted piece of visual art!

"'Death's Design' is an explosive song with lyrics inspired by the tragic human condition; the fact that we're all destined to die. It's one of the more epic songs of the album and we're really stoked on the recording."

Born From The Dark was produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by up and coming producer Scott Fuller (ANNIHILATED, ABYSMAL DAWN). Artwork was once again handled by the world renowned Par Olofsson (EXODUS, IMMORTAL, THE FACELESS, ABYSMAL DAWN), whom the band worked with on their debut release Into Oblivion.

Check out the first single from the record, "The Awakening", here: https://youtu.be/ybV_uPJgxOE

Born From The Dark track listing:
01. The Awakening
02. Scars (Of My Sanity)
03. The Black Horizon
04. A Ghost Inside
05. Death's Design
06. Fallen
07. Exiled Into Darkness
08. Blacked Out

Soon to be a household name, VOICES OF RUIN have come to give melodic death metal the shot in the arm it so desperately needs. Harkening back to the genre's glory days while pushing the envelope one step further, VOICES OF RUIN eviserate their audience with brutally catchy guitar riffs, soaring melodies, devastating percussion, and the ferocious blackened death growl of their charismatic frontman. Their music can be described as an epically crafted blend of classic heavy metal and modern death metal, that also pays homage to the traditional Scandinavian melodic death metal sound. Now with the release of Born of the Dark, the band is primed to extend their reach out of the underground!

VOICES OF RUIN has been cutting their teeth in the highly competitive Southern California metal scene since 2007. From early on, the band received accolades for their devastating live performances all across the local metal circuit and soon went into the studio to record their first full length album. Into Oblivion was recorded in 2010 by engineer/producer Chris Eck. At the time Eck had been quoted as saying, " Into Oblivion is an insanely good album. It captures the raging intensity of 80s thrash metal and presents it in a melo-death format. VOICES OF RUIN are able to accomplish this fusion better than any band that I know of."

In the wake of this explosive release was a string of high profile live shows opening for international acts all over Southern California. Soon afterward, VOICES OF RUIN embarked on tours all over the west coast. Members shifted and VOICES OF RUIN found their ultimate lineup with the brothers Dave and Tom Barrett on vocals and lead guitar, Solid Sleeve on rhythm, Wally Myers on bass, and Lonnie Van Horn handling the percussive duties.

After much deliberation, the band settled upon up-and-coming producer Scott Fuller to record the album Born From The Dark in 2015. With his discerning ear and passion for music, Scott quickly became the "6th member" of the band and proceeded to record the ultimate VOICES OF RUIN album - Born From The Dark. The beautiful cover art by esteemed artist Par Olofsson is just the icing on the cake. In short, Born From The Dark is a sonically crushing journey through the abyss that will keep listeners headbanging and lost in the melody.
Visit VOICES OF RUIN online:


Nuclear Blast Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram