SYLVAINE: Reveals New "Saudade" Track

Norwegian multi-instrumentalist Sylvaine is now unveiling the second track taken from her sophomore album "Wistful", […]
March 14, 2016
Norwegian multi-instrumentalist Sylvaine is now unveiling the second track taken from her sophomore album "Wistful", which has been scheduled for release on May 13th. The song "Saudade" is exclusively streaming via the official media partners listed below. (DE)
Obsküre (FR)
Rocking (GR)
Kronos Mortus (HU)
Andfari (IS)
Metalitalia (IT)
Kvlt (PL)
Loud (PT)
Antichrist Magazine (UA)
Rock'n'Reel (UK)

Sylvaine Comments: "The track "Saudade" showcases the more ambient side of "Wistful". I always refer to this song as 'the dirge', as the mix of my father's constant hypnotic marching pattern on the drums and the dark ambience of the music, gives the feeling of a funeral march. Musically it is very minimalistic and lyrically, this might be one of my favourites on the album."

Sylvaine has previously revealed artwork and tracklist of 'Wistful', which can both be viewed below.

"Wistful" Track Listing:
1. Delusions
2. Earthbound
3. A Ghost Trapped In Limbo
4. Saudade
5. In The Wake Of Moments Passed By
6. Like A Moth To A Flame
7. Wistful

With her sophomore album 'Wistful', multi-instrumentalist Sylvaine is delving deeper into her characteristic ambient wall-of-sound landscapes that are painted by beautiful melodies, lingering guitar riffs, and atmospheres, which are all underlined by a solid groove.

The Norwegian is not just another blonde driven by obvious BURZUM worship, but has developed her own sound that owes more to the shoegaze of Alcest for example, which she supported in South America in September 2014.

Sylvaine's music and lyrics are inspired by life seen as a constant conflict with oneself, haunted by numerous emotions that seemingly will never be laid to rest. Melancholic tones colour the auditory side as well as the visual side of the project, revealing the eternal longing for something more residing within the music.

For Sylvaine it was never a question of what she wanted to do in life. Music was always a fundamental part of her, something she could not live without, which made her choice of path clear. In 2013, the multi-instrumentalist Scandinavian finally decided that it was the perfect time to start a new chapter of her musical journey, something that eventually led to the release of her first album 'Silent Chamber, Noisy Heart' the following year. Serving as the composer, recording engineer, producer and musician of all instruments herself, Sylvanie created that critically acclaimed debut only with the aid of British mixing engineer Nick Terry and Ray Staff for mastering at Air Studios.

The recordings for "Wistful" were completed in renowned French Drudenhaus Studios in spring 2015. It was mixed and mastered by the same team as her first full-length during autumn and winter of 2015. The album features contributions by Stephen Shepard and Stéphane "Neige" Paut as session drummers as well as violinist Coralie Louarnika and cellist Thibault Guichard.

Get ready to devote some time to Sylvanie and get drawn deeper into the magic of "Wistful" with each spin.

Line Up Is:

Sylvaine: Vocals, Synthesizers, Guitars, Bass, Percussion, & Drums

Season Of Mist
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram