RAGE: New studio album "Seasons Of The Black" in July

The creativity and productivity of the German heavy metal trio RAGE seems to have no […]
May 1, 2017

The creativity and productivity of the German heavy metal trio RAGE seems to have no limits. Only 14 months after the successful "The Devil Strikes Again" neckbreaker, RAGE deliver their new, 23rd studio album called "Seasons Of The Black", which will be released on July 28th!

"Our fans are getting RAGE metal of the very first grade. We've been able to bring the band's typical trademarks into eleven new songs, and we're sticking to the course that we forged on the last album! This means hard and very catchy compositions that also sound thrash, aggressive and epic", tells band leader Peavy.

Since the reorientation of 2015, the three band members have now fully adapted to each other and the lost harmony has been fully restored. "We are even better matched with each other," says Peavy happy. "We offer new ideas to each other like we've never done something else before! It also happened that we created a whole new song within just two hours from start to finish, from scratch! Regarding the production we were also able to prevent some complications, which had been an element of the last album due to a lack of experience. This time, everything worked perfectly."

Guitarist Marcos Rodriguez and drummer Vassilios "Lucky" Maniatopoulos have been long-time RAGE fans from the very beginning. Their input also leaves its mark on their second album. "Marcos and Lucky well know the "classic" style-creating spirit of RAGE so to speak, and on a personal level we all really like each other as well. This contributed to the possibility of continuing to develop and expanding the band's spirit," the vocalist adds.

The stylistic connection between "The Devil Strikes Again" and "Seasons Of The Black" is also visually reflected in the artwork, once again created by graphic artist Karim König. "We developed the idea together," says Peavy. "In this way we want to show that both albums belong together in their own way. I modelled the sonically inspired sculpture that dominates the cover on my own. As a basis, I used a very rare skull from my collection, which I poured myself and then re-modelled. Karim created the gloomy landscape with the Golgotha Hill."

The title song 'Seasons Of The Black' will be the opener of the 11 track-album. "The song is very personal, it is about a failed life-long dream. Imagine being stamped to the ground and looking at the broken pieces of your existence. This sadly is a destiny that many people have to share. Most of the songs on the album include a very gloomy view of the world, so we thought "Seasons Of The Black" would be suitable for the entire album," the vocalist, who founded RAGE over three decades ago, sums up.

"Seasons Of The Black" was recorded in February / March 2017 at Megafon Studios (Burscheid, Germany) and at Soundchaser Studios (Zandhoven, Belgium). Its production was handled by RAGE, whilst the renowned Dan Swanö (MARDUK, OPETH, KATATONIA) took care of the mix and mastering at Unisound Studios (Grefrath, Germany).

RAGE - Live 2017

29.04. E Oviedo - Discoteca Sir Laurens
05.05. S Stockholm - Pub Anchor
06.05. N Oslo - Hard Rock Cafe
07.05. S Gothenburg - Sticky Fingers
12.05. I Borgo Priolo (Pavia) - Rockland Festival
03.06. D Eichstätt - Open Air am Berg
10.06. D Starnberg - Food Rock Festival, Schlossberghalle
17.06. D Duisburg - Rage Against Racism (RAGE meets REFUGE)
29.06. D Gardelegen - Metal Frenzy
02.07. E Barcelona - Rock Fest
06.07. D Ballenstedt - Rock Harz Open Air
16.07. CZ Vizovice - Masters of Rock
21.07. UA Ternopil - Faine Misto Festival
03.-05.08. D Wacken - Wacken Open Air
10.08. E Villena - Leyendas Del Rock
12.08. B Kortrijk - Alcatraz Festival
13.08. D Königs Wusterhausen - Zombie Rock Festival
02.09. D Dormagen - Zons Rockt (RAGE meets REFUGE)
23.12. D Burglengenfeld - VAZ, X-Mas Dynamite Night

Order "The Devil Strikes Again" now: https://nblast.de/RAGEDevilStrikesNB
Get the digital version here: https://nblast.de/RageDownloads

Order the DESTRUCTION / RAGE split single here: https://nblast.de/DestrUnderAttackNB

More on "The Devil Strikes Again":

'The Devil Strikes Again' OFFICIAL VIDEO:


'Spirits Of The Night' OFFICIAL TRACK & LYRICS:

RAGE are:
Peter "Peavy" Wagner | lead vocals, bass
Marcos Rodriguez | guitars, vocals
Vassilios "Lucky" Maniatopoulos | drums, vocals

More info:

Nuclear Blast Records
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram