PERRACIDE: To release debut album "Underdog" in June

Anyone that's kept half an ear to the extreme metal underground during the past three […]
May 1, 2023

Anyone that's kept half an ear to the extreme metal underground during the past three decades should be familiar with drumming phantom lord Perra Karlsson. From his humble beginnings in Wortox/Altar via early standout bands like Suffer and Nasum to showcasing his unique drumming in legendary acts like Nominon, In Aeternum, Benediction and Deströyer 666 and also lending his blasting skills to newer acts like Kvaen, Devil's Force and AngelBlast the list of his contributions to metal seems almost endless.

After a lifetime spent in the underground with a never fading dedication to the craft of metal his name has become synonymous with hard work and a true love for all things metal. Frustrated over the lack of activity in his current regular bands at the time, Perra used his discontent to fuel the fire of creativity and as a result "Underdog" was born.

To realise this monster of an album the drum-lord extraordinaire issued a call to arms that was answered by a squadron of legends from the metal underground seldom gathered on one record. With stand-out performances from the likes of Marc Grewe (Morgoth, Insidious Disease), Hellbutcher (Nifelheim), John Zwetsloot (Dissection, Cardinal Sin), Anders Jacobsson (Nasum, Necrony, Axis of Despair), Dave Hunt (Benediction, Anaal Nathrakh), Jörgen Sandström (Grave, Entombed, Torture Division), Simon Wizén (Valkyrja, Die Hard), K.K. Warslut (Deströyer 666, Bestial Warlust) and Gord Olson (Darkened) this beast will not be denied nor disappoint.

Photo Credit: Paula Hirseland

The album consists of fourteen slabs of undeniable metal magic. Five of the tracks being new and original songs showcasing the versatility and extremity of Perra and his chosen brothers in arms. Perra initially wrote and demoed the songs on drums only, so that the involved musicians could write guitar riffs and add leads and finally the guests vocalists and bassists could complete them with their parts. The remaining tracks are fresh renditions of Perra's favorite tracks from the myriad of legendary acts he's been a part of that really drives the point home. This is 45 minutes of crushing metal that nobody should miss out on!

When clicked, this video is loaded from YouTube servers. See our privacy policy for details.

"Underdog" tracklist:

1. Inexorable (Perracide)
2. The Grotesque (Benediction)
3. In The Eyes Of Suffering (Perracide)
4. Raped (Deströyer 666)
5. Satanic Sacrifice (Nifelheim)
6. Domedagen (Nasum)
7. The Decisive Slaughter (Perracide)
8. Horripilation (Perracide)
9. The Dreams You Dread (Benediction)
10. Black Evil (Nifelheim)
11. Cut To Fit (Nasum)
12. Torn From The Grave (Interment)
13. Silence The World (Perracide)
14. Satanic Speed Metal (Deströyer 666

Brace yourselves and prepare to suffer the PERRACIDE!

"Underdog" will be released on CD, LP (180gr black vinyl, limited to 300) and digital formats via Emanzipation Productions on June 23rd, 2023. Pre-orders available here.

The first digital single from the album, titled "Horripilation", is already out. A new single, titled "Inexorable", will be out on Friday next week. Preview and pre-save it here.


Apple Music

linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram