HOUND: 'Out of Space' to be released in November

"burly, bongwater-splattered rock'n'roll, the kind designed to sound particularly righteous coming from a pinstriped AMC […]
November 9, 2015

"burly, bongwater-splattered rock'n'roll, the kind designed to sound particularly righteous coming from a pinstriped AMC Gremlin...unrelenting" - PITCHFORK

Philadelphia underground rock band HOUND will release its new album Out of Space on November 27 via SRA Records. The power trio -- guitarist / vocalist Perry Shall, drummer Chris Wilson (also of Ted Leo and the Pharmacists) and bassist Patrick Hickey -- whose sound has been described as "just the right combination of attack and restraint" recorded the album at Studio 4 in Conshohocken, PA (Title Fight, Braid). Out of Space is the follow up to HOUND's 2014 debut, Out of Time, which was hailed as "WITCH with elements of Dinosaur Jr" by Noisey and "neo-stoner" by CMJ.

"To me, 'Out of Space' is like, if Motörhead's Stiff Records-era songs were written by someone who was stuck living in Philadelphia their whole life," says Shall. "The record channels hard rock influenced by the ideas of time and space. Space being Philadelphia"

Led by Shall (a visual artist who's done album covers for JEFF the Brotherhood and Diarrhea Planet and made videos for Tweens and Pujol among others), HOUND is a band that understands the deadeningly powerful effect of hammering down the riff. Reaching into heavy psychedelic blues and blasting it into the 21st century, the group mates metallic heft with punk's economy and tempo in a coupling that evokes the New Wave of British Heavy Metal. On Out of Space, HOUND sweeps aside the glossy metal of the moment with waves of gritty fuzz, pushing swirling volume through battered amps. Admirers of vintage rock 'n' roll won't be disappointed.

HOUND will throw a Philadelphia album release party for Out of Space on November 27 at Everybody Hits. Special guests include The Kominas and Dangerbird. For full details, visit this location.

Track listing:

1.) Emotional Collapse
2.) Mortality Jam
3.) Walkin' the Fine Line
4.) Intro
5.) Cold Blooded
6.) Super Junkie of Being
7.) Stone Carvin' Man
8.) Walking Curse
9.) Over the Edge

Follow HOUND on Facebook.

"Philly cats slaying satan's brainwaves." - PHILADELPHIA WEEKLY

"HOUND comprise the best parts of J Mascis into one hard rock package...think WITCH with elements of Dinosaur Jr and you'll have the idea." - NOISEY

Action Media Marketing
linkcrossmenucross-circle linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram